The little things..

This weekend is my little brother’s 10th birthday.

This weekend is also Halloween Weekend.

For the last 3 months I have been planning on driving home to surprise my brother for his birthday. Some of my friends questioned me as to why I would give up a weekend of drinking to go home. Well, quite frankly, I would rather spend time with my family and surprise my little brother than spend a weekend struggling to remember the details of each night.

The drive from Plymouth to Connecticut usually takes me about 3 hours and 45 minutes. Not image1-1this time. It is easy to say that I experienced fall, winter, and spring all in one drive. 3 hours in a what felt like a blizzard, and another 3 hours in a down pour. It was all worth it when I got to my front door and saw my brother’s face full of shock and surprise.

The picture to the left was taken to show how tall Rj’s getting (I’m not that tall myself but still) I can’t take it! Also, photobombed my one of my dogs, Donnie.

The first surprise was me coming home. The second surprise will come tomorrow. My work, an amusement park in Bristol, CT, Lake Compounce, has a Haunted Graveyard, every year in Sept-October. I am going to bring RJ to that tomorrow. Its scary an almost like a maze that you have to walk around. I made him a little poem book that will hint at what the surprise is.

image2   image3image4

I hope he enjoys it! What better way than to celebrate the double-digits than getting your pants scared off of ya!?

I am so happy I came home this weekend, not having classes Monday or Friday really helped with me being able to come down and spend some quality time with the family.

Be happy, do something spontaneous, and know that it is okay to go against the social norms and not get drunk 3 nights in a row as a college student during “Halloweekend”. Remember, it is the little things that mean the most.

Leave a Reply

